Freakonomics by Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner

I’ve been away from reviewing books for a while because I have no idea which books are going to review next. Well, I do not finish reading any book recently, so I need to pick the book that I read long time ago. Ristr8to is the example.

Normally, I’d like to review in Thai. The main reason is because it’s Thai books and I think I can explain more in Thai than English. Well, I’m not that good in English! 😉 But, as this book is written in English, so it’s a good chance for me to review in English. Hope I can make it.

This is one of many books that I try to practise my English skill in reading (there’s still so many books waiting on shelf because it’s time consuming task, one English book may take about 2 months to finish!!). I know this book from the Thai version’s. It’s so interesting book to read but I prefer English version because sometimes the feeling or mood of the author may be lost in translation. 🙂

Freakonomics is about using economics to explain the hidden side of the things or situations that occur in the society, especially, in the US. Sometimes we don’t know that one situation can lead to one particular result that we never expect. And, most of the them are so cool. In the beginning of each chapter, the authors start with questions. And, each question is so weird and interesting, it will make you even want to read it. It can be the question like, what do schoolteachers and sumo wrestlers have in common?, what makes a perfect parent?, and why do drug dealers still live with their mom?

Want to know the answer? You can guess but you can’t expect the answer! Well, there’s still more interesting issues waiting for you to explore. For me, I think economics is really amazing. You will feel the same if you read this book. 😉

IMG_0871.JPG

Leave a Reply

